click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


Stouffer's sells Spinach Souffle at the supermarket. The TV dinners always look more appetizing on the box than what you actually get. Except for Spinach Souffle. I think the picture looks very close to what you get. Or at least it doesn't try to be sneaky or deceitfully tempting. It looks like thick, gelatinous swamp scum.

See I shop at 4 am so I have time to browse. A couple years ago, having been through with ramen noodles as staple diet and viewing it as pleasant treat, I decided to audition several varieties and brands of noodles. I went to a couple stores, I picked up obscure, unusual flavors, one of each all I could find. I tore out a sheet of paper on which to rate each brand/flavor combo over the next weeks. Tomato ramen is twisted. M saw what I was doing. Didn't approve. Threw away the paper with the ratings on it, then she threw away the remaining noodles. Said stuff about it being too nerdy or something.

I have idiot lights on the DSL modem. The lights don't mean much. When all three are lit, my DSL could be out. When one is blinking, my DSL is definitely out. That's about all the meaning there is. They're idiot lights. What do they tell? There's nothing I can do if a light is blinking. It's not like it's some signal alerting me to some required action. There's nothing to do. I have to stare and drool like an idiot at it.

So we are turn-of-the-century man. In 55 years, when a person refers to society and life as they were at the turn of the century, we represent that society and that style of life, broadly construed. Shudder. That means...

And yes, I bought a vegetable. I have to defrost, I can't close the freezer anymore. There's a spare tire in my room. Halogen floor lamps can be a fire hazard if not used with care. Six years ago I went to the dentist. In For Your Eyes Only, when he's running through the tunnels, when he enters it's night, when he comes out it's bright sunny day. I like to sleep against the wall. I have a real problem clipping nosehair. Weapon Factory for Quake3 looks mind blowing, but I'm gonna wait for Unreal Warfare instead of getting Tribes2, then there's Dark Sector and some guy's enabling S3TC in OGL under W32 for UT, and RA 1.5 GotYE should be out in weeks. I have the classiest bean bag chair I've seen. It's dark maroon, large, high quality vinyl, with a pronounced conical shape. A cricket came in two days ago. He wouldn't shut up. So I got a zip disk clear plastic case and caught him and put it gently on top of him. Thick carpet. He couldn't get out. He stayed under it for two days. I just moved the zip disk clear plastic case. He's dead. But he got revenge. He's stuck to the carpet, all his legs are dug in and it will be messy. I put the case back on him and I will do it tomorrow. My car has had the same bird poop on it for a whole season now, seeing as how no rain.

The figure of Death presides over the front entrance of a carnival sideshow whose spectators watch performers undergo unspeakable degradations so grotesquely compelling that the spectators' eyes become larger and larger until the spectators themselves are transformed into gigantic eyeballs in chairs, while on the other side of the sideshow tent the figure of Life uses a megaphone to invite fairgoers to an exhibition in which, if the fairgoers consent to undergo unspeakable degradations, they can witness ordinary persons gradually turn into gigantic eyeballs.