click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


I know. No diary longtime. Here's what I have planned.

--couple more points about the war on terrorism, US politics, political correctness, John Ashcroft, etc., but not ad nauseum

--bike stuff--the 2002s are all over the net and there are some super smooth new bikes

--daily life, how 'school' is goin', couple things I'm interested in lately, couple things that have happened

Nothing too spectacular. Maybe I'll get that out within a week.

Still haven't heard back from my friend Eli who lives in NYC. Starting to worry a little bit.

I usually don't post emails I get (and there are alot of people who see to it that I get every email that goes around, but I usually just save the good ones to .txt), but I just felt like posting this one. I didn't write this, I wouldn't have written this, and I think it's a little disingenuous (it ignores the 'running away with tail between legs' response as well as the 'swiftly placing head into ground and hoping it goes away' response)... but it makes a point, and it relates to something I've been dealing with over the past 2 weeks.

What to do if you happen upon a peace rally organized by naive hemp-shirt-wearing college idiots, in order to teach them why force is sometimes necessary

1) Approach dumb, rich, ignorant student who is talking about "peace" and saying there should be no retaliation

2) Engage in brief conversation, asking if military force is appropriate in this situation

3) When he says "no way!" ask "why not?"

4) Wait until he says something to the effect of, "because that would just cause more deaths, which would be awful and we should never cause further violence"

5) While he (or she) is in mid sentence, punch him (or her) in the face as hard as you can

6) When he gets back up to punch you, point out that it would be a mistake and contrary to his values to strike you, "because that would be awful and he should never cause further violence"

7) Wait until he agrees that he has pledged not to commit additional violence

8) Punch him in the face again, harder this time; repeat steps 5 through 8 until they understand that sometimes it is necessary to punch back