click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


I did my presentation. I was a bit nervous for the first two minutes, then I tried to put an ounce of emotion into my voice and relaxed a great deal. Then it was a bit more fun. I like speaking to a rapt audience, although I much prefer the informal meetings I've run the last few Wednesdays. There were about fifty students and three professors there. We got a few compliments on the presentation. Dr. Baen DID rip our REITs idea apart pretty hard (), but a few things undermined his points (such as his first sentence: "I hate stocks"). I could have used some more time to formulate a rebuttal, but the clock was not our friend (when is it ever?).

Anyway, we had a vote, and the "Accept/Buys" outnumbered the "Wait/Review Furthers" by over two to one, with a few "Reject/Don't Buys" (official count was 35-16-4). Pass!! Woo-hoo! The order goes in in a few days. Chelsea has been strong in my Fool shadow account lately. I mean, don't even get me started on ATI, which is up almost 17% in eleven trading days! But Chelsea is up a nice 5.71% in those same eleven days, which is great, especially considering the upcoming dividend payments (ATI pays no dividends). My whole portfolio is up 6.3% in eleven trading days, an annualized return rate of 271% before dividends!! Good grief!

But going back to SIG, it was a fun day, and an impressive victory for us. Some hard and time-consuming work (but absolutely nothing compared to what's ahead of me this Summer), and I'm glad it's over for a little while (I still have time to salvage As and Bs in my classes now). I'm happy to see the SIG made a decisive decision based on our research and presentation.