click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


Sigh...

I just wrote a difficult email explaining to Rhakka why I didn't think I could be in his clan at this time. I thought about it all day and realized that it sounds so promising and great that it would only depress me and be unfair to Rhakka and the clan that I couldn't devote the kind of time required to lift the project off the ground and make it great. A clan is TIME-CONSUMING, and being second-in-command (handling more of the day-to-day than the leader) of a new clan is VERY TIME-CONSUMING. I realized about halfway through today, as I thumbed through my father's Corvette catalog at work looking for good parts, that I was going to have to say no.

I told him May 7th is the last day of school and I'll have more time after that. But April is going to be harsh. A 15 page paper due very soon for Mass Comm and a huge paper due soon for IR. Exams. Finals. It would be irresponsible of me to start building a clan right now. Either the clan would suffer or my class work would suffer. A choice had to be made.

I do miss the clan experience. My experience was cut short by AlbinoBoy and Spectre.I, although (BoD) has made up for that in some ways. Maybe these games will be around in some form accessible to me and good, honorable, smart people will still play them when I'm 45 years old. Maybe I'll be a part of a clan like TDO (The Diuturnal Order, one of the oldest and closest clans in the world), with airplane trips and T-Shirts and many years of playing together and close friends...