click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


Ahh, my favorite time of the day, when I get to VENT and spew venom.

Actually it's not that bad. Plus a girl in my EnvSciLab was extraordinarily nice and helpful to me. And there's an albino squirrel on campus.

Am I old because I've never even heard of Alicia Keys? She won 5 Grammys last night.

I used to like Monday Night Football. Even when I wasn't into the season itself, MNF was more often than not a fun show to watch after class or work. And then they hired Dennis Miller, and it became unwatchable. Al Michaels is excellent, Fouts was great, Miller just made the whole show extremely uncomfortable. Now, he's gone, along with 'Foutsy', replaced by none other than John Madden. Hooray, MNF is back!

It seems N Sync was supposed to be in Star Wars: Episode 2: Attack of the Clones, but because of a hewn public outcry, they will no longer appear in the film.

Metroid for GameCube, which I was disappointed to hear was a first-person shooter until I played Halo, is being programmed right here in Texas.

Something that annoys me: apartment workers walking outside my door with loud, distorted walkie-talkies. Jeez, the door really is like paper, and it sounds like the Gestapo is after you. Perhaps I'm paranoid.

Charley and Jess are going to have a SitRep Town Meeting here soon, I'm excited about that!! The chance to be part of a studio audience for that excellent show and meet Jess will be great.

They're testing CHIPS. Chips intended for implantation into humans. The specter draws ever closer...

You know I'm extremely liberal when it comes to homosexuality. Basically I got nothing against what two adults want to do, and I think they ought to be allowed to get married, raise kids, etc. Different strokes for different folks, so to speak. An extra benefit is the lack of risk of unwanted pregnancy. Note that this doesn't mean I go hang out at Moby Dick's every weekend (although I have been there twice... long story). However, sometimes I wonder if some of the females out there aren't 'lesbian' or 'bisexual' because that is their lifestyle but rather because it's just 'chic' and a hip fashion statement right now.

Darn it, the new Motorcyclist has a head to head test of a stock $50,000 2002 Corvette Z06 and a stock $10,000 2002 Suzuki GSX-R1000, but I didn't get mine yet. They ran em through acceleration tests, top speed, quarter mile, braking (actually 0-100-0), and a track test around Willow Springs. The Vette had a better heater, sound system, AC, grocery-getting capacity, and weather protection. The Suzuki was better at everything else. My conclusion? If you want a vehicle with good heat, AC, carrying capacity, weather protection, and sound, buy a reasonable car like a Civic Si and if you want a vehicle to go fast and get your blood pumping and feel like a hero, get a sportbike, and spend half of what the Vette costs. Not that I wouldn't take the Vette.

In the UK, they're working on a system using GPS and transmitters in every vehicle that would tax you for every single kilometer you travel, and at different rates depending on the type of vehicle, the time of day, and the particular road. I DON'T MAKE THIS STUFF UP.

Well, it finally happened. I've been invited to the NASCAR Winston Cup race in April. Should I go? Baseball can be deadly boring on TV but a heck of a great way to spend an evening if you actually go out to the park... if it's a choice between sitting at home reading my Statistics book or attending the race, I guess I'd have to choose the race.