click here to access Diaryland click here to send me an email click here for bio and links click here to access the archive list click here for the latest entry


It's time to buy a new motorcycle. After twenty one and a half months without my own motorcycle, I'm ready. I've been doing some shopping for used bikes and looking at the crop of new bikes and I think I've settled on a new 2009 Kawasaki Versys.

This is a 649cc parallel twin. It was named motorcycle of the year in one publication. One thing I really like about it is that I don't think I'd feel much of a need to upgrade it -- not even the basics like tires, exhaust, rear fender, windscreen, etc.

It makes good torque down low through the midrange, more than my ZZR did, although it also doesn't have the last 6000 RPMs of insane fury that the ZZR had, which is fine. It's a do-everything bike that can handle a track day, sport riding, light touring, commuting, two-up, grocery getting, hot, cold, etc.

Now I just have to wait for the 2009s to actually be released, ordered by my dealership, and shipped. All the 2008s are sold out.